The Poet X ****Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019****

The Poet X ****Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019****

  • Publisher: Electric Monkey
  • Author: Elizabeth Acevedo
  • ISBN: 9781405291460
  • Laburnum Code: 10422
  • Book Type: Paperback
  • Number of Pages: 368
  • Accelerated Reader Level: 5.2
  • Points Value: 5.0
£7.99 £3.99 Ex Tax: £3.99

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie.


Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

Copyright © 2017 Laburnum House Educational. All rights reserved